Not Long Now!!!

Well gang it has been a while since my last post and I have preparing mentally and physically for the ride next week where we will depart on our journey of 930km for the Daw Park Repatriation Hospital

After a busy week trying to get some rides in, driving all over town to get those last minute supplies and accessories I think I am physically ready, I guess the mental bit will come later I hope. I would be lying if I didn’t say I was absolutely shitting myself about Monday’s start.

I would like to say a sincere thank-you to Gary Mills @Starcycles Elizabeth for supplying me with spares for the ride as well as servicing my bike at the last-minute. Make sure you get out there as they are one of those rare bike stores where customer service is a priority!

Today was a very emotional and stressing day as the local Channel 9 News conducted an exclusive interview with me regarding, post trauma from conflict, my fallen mates, and my rehabilitation back into civilian life. This was on the proviso that they also promote the Ride4Repat, and i would not put no restrictions on the questions. This was a lot for me to do as you can ask any vet admitting to post trauma especially on national TV. So tune in on Sunday night at 6pm as that is when it will air!

My Pic below is one of the many reasons why i cycle, it was taken a couple of weeks back while riding in the Adelaide Hills one early morning with some friends.

This weeks sponsor for Ride4Repat is Feetures Performance Socks thanks to Feetures all of the Ride4Repat cyclists will be enjoying comfort with these socks whilst on those long-enduring days! All of their products feature power bands of Lycra designed to contour to the individual shape of your foot. This individualized fit delivers the perfect amount of compression so that each sock hugs the foot in a comfortable, supportive way. As a result, Feetures! socks stay firmly in place and eliminate movement between the foot and sock that often causes blisters

Just a reminder that our friends and sponsors at Feetures have made available a general special offer for repeat customers of a 25% discount. Use the code “FRC2012” when ordering on-line (http://www.feetures.com.au/). A percentage of each sale benefits R4R cause. This will be available for a limited time only.  

5 thoughts on “Not Long Now!!!

  1. Wishing you all the very best for your ride! Looking forward to seeing the interview on Sunday. I hope you raise heaps of money for the Repat – it is an amazing place! Stay safe and have fun.

  2. All the very best Mark.

    I hope you and the gang stay safe out there.

    Work together and you will stay strong.

    Wattsy

  3. Hey! I know that picture! 🙂 Was great to be able to get out into the hills and ride with you that morning Reidy. I’m very proud of you and feel priviledged to be a part of your training and cycling family.
    Day one is done, six more to go! See you on the final day.
    -Juz

Leave a comment